Drive-By Truckers Announce New Album, “Welcome 2 Club XIII”


Drive-By Truckers have announced the release of their 14th album, Welcome to 2 Club XIII, June 3.

The song “Welcome 2 Club XIII” is a nod to the early days of the group, even before the group was formed.

“There were no cool bars in town, and Club XIII was the best we had,” singer and guitarist Patterson Hood said in a press release. He and bandmate Mike Cooley performed in the venue while still playing in their previous band Adam’s House Cat. “But it wasn’t that good, and our group wasn’t particularly popular there. Every once in a while the owner would throw us on a Wednesday night or let us open a hair-metal band that we were awfully suited for, and everyone would hang out until we were done playing. It wasn’t very funny then, but it’s funny to us now.

You can listen to the album’s title track below.

Welcome 2 Club XIIIwhich was produced by longtime collaborator David Barbe, features a handful of guest appearances, including REM’s Mike Mills and singer-songwriter Margo Price. Rounded out by keyboardist and guitarist Jay Gonzalez, bassist Matt Patton and drummer Brad Morgan, Welcome 2 Club XIII was recorded live with most songs cut into just one or two takes. A full list of tracks can be seen below.

“Cooley and I have been playing together for 37 years now,” Hood said. “That first group may have failed miserably commercially, but I’m really proud of what we did back then. It had a lot to do with who we ended up becoming.

Welcome 2 Club XIII is available for Pre-order now.

Drive-By Truckers, ‘Welcome 2 Club XIII’ Track Listing
1. “The Driver”
2. “Maria’s terrible revelations”
3. “Jerking and Pine”
4. “We’ll never wake you up in the morning”
5. “Welcome 2 Club XIII”
6. “Forged in Hell and Sent to Heaven”
7. “Every single flame extinguishing”
8. “Billy Ringo in the Dark”
9. “Wilder Days”


Comments are closed.